WICD - Search Results

The following is an archived video story. The text content of that video story is available below for reference. The original video has been deleted and is no longer available.

11 Local Students Nominated for Military Academies

Eleven high school students from the 13th Congressional District have been nominated for admittance to U.S. military academies. Rep. Rodney Davis, who nominated the students, made the announcement today.

John Douglas Bluhm of Springfield, Tynon Cleveland of Decatur, Ian Michael Gidcomb of Savoy, and Hugh Mahr of Mount Auburn were all nominated to the U.S. Military Academy at West Point.

Cameron James Deedrich of Champaign, Henry James Elik of Alton, Riley O'Connor McManus of Springfield, Cedric Volle of New Douglas, and Richard Garrett Watson of Jerseyville were all nominated to the U.S. Naval Academy in Annapolis, Md.

Erika Fulbright of Edwardsville and Kristianna Scheffel of Grafton were nominated to the U.S. Air Force Academy in Colorado Springs, Co.

Each individual academy makes the final decision on which students will be admitted.